How to set up your own domain name

I recently setup my own domain: chat.skychen.com.  Why?  Because I would like to have a domain name for my node.js Social Chat Website (http://chat.skychen.com/), and for my upcoming web sites.

It is not hard, and here is some experience when setting up my domain:

The first step is to find a good service provider.  I am using onlydomains.com, because I saw its ads in Google search result. 🙂  You can also consider the recommendations from Jason – Five Best Domain Name Registrars.

The second step is to make sure the domain name you are looking for is available.  Most of the Domain Name Registrars provided the search function for you.  I am decided to use my own name as the domain name, because I would like to use this domain for my own works/hacks and so on.

If your domain is available, then you just need to pay for it.  It takes about USD 10 for a domain name per year.

It will take a few days to make your domain registered.  The last step is to setup your domain, to route the traffics to your web servers:  Adding DNS Records.

, , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by http://google.com on February 14, 2013 - 6:29 am

    Seems like u truly understand plenty about this
    specific subject and it demonstrates via this blog post, given the name “How to set up your own
    domain name Sky Chen”. I am grateful -Corazon

  2. #2 by Maxie on May 10, 2013 - 3:40 am

    I absolutely love your blog.. Great colors & theme. Did you
    develop this web site yourself? Please reply back as I’m planning to create my own personal blog and would like to find out where you got this from or what the theme is called. Many thanks!

Leave a Reply

